

EBPONEЙCKИ ΠΑΡЛΑΜΕΗΤ PARLAMENTO EUROPEO EVROPSKÝ PARLAMENT EUROPA-PARLAMENTET EUROPÄISCHES PARLAMENT EUROOPA PARLAMENT EYPΩΠΑΪΚΟ KOINOBOYAIO EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT PARLEMENT EUROPÉEN PARLAIMINT NA hEORPA EUROPSKI PARLAMENT PARLAMENTO EUROPEO EIROPAS PARLAMENTS EUROPOS PARLAMENTAS EURÓPAI PARLAMENT IL-PARLAMENT EWROPEW EUROPEES PARLEMENT PARLAMENT EUROPEJSKI PARLAMENTO EUROPEU PARLAMENTUL EUROPEAN EURÓPSKY PARLAMENT EVROPSKI PARLAMENT EUROOPAN PARLAMENTTI EUROPAPARLAMENTET

The President

Ms P.A. DIJKSTRA Chairwoman of the committee on the Interior Tweede Kamer der Staten Generaal Binnenhof 1a 2513 AA Den Haag Netherlands

D 200491 03.02.2016

Dear Ms Dijkstra,

Thank you for your letter of 1 February 2016 in which you raise a number of questions regarding the transmission to national parliaments of the draft legislative act on provisions amending the Act concerning the election of the members of the European parliament by direct universal suffrage, adopted on 11 November 2015.

Upon receipt of your letter, given its serious nature, I immediately called for a thorough report from Parliament's services with regard to transmission of the draft legislative act in question, in order to be able to address your concerns as swiftly as possible.

As you know, Parliament regularly forwards documents to the national parliaments in compliance with its Treaty and Protocol obligations. At the end of each part-session, the documents concerned are identified and transmitted, along with other adopted texts addressed to the national parliaments, in line with established arrangements between the European Parliament and the various national parliaments. In particular, for example, Parliament very regularly forwards it legislative resolutions to national parliaments, in discharge of its obligations under the Protocols. All documents forwarded to national parliaments in this way are accompanied by a letter from Parliament's Deputy Secretary General, acting on my behalf, which sets out the nature of the acts or positions in question.

Accordingly, in this case, the full text of the draft legislative act on electoral reform was forwarded to all national parliaments electronically on 11 December 2015, together with a position on a legislative proposal adopted at the same part-session, and accompanied by a letter from the Deputy Secretary General setting out the nature of the documents. These texts were forwarded to the most recent email addresses provided by national parliaments, in the same way as other documents have generally been forwarded under the protocols. As regards, more particularly, transmission to the Tweede Kamer of the Netherlands, there was indeed a technical issue with the transmission of the texts, which was resolved on 17 December 2015.

While it is true that transmission occurred slightly later than transmission to Council and Commission, this was in view of the fact that it was necessary to arrange for the individual translation of each transmission letter. As regards hard copies of the documents concerned: after obtaining the agreement of all national parliaments, from 1 February 2014, the European Parliament has forwarded such documents in electronic form only. My understanding is that a number of national parliaments explicitly requested this development.

I trust that this letter answers your questions and allays your concerns with regard to transmission of the draft legislative act to your parliaments.

Yours sincerely,

<u>Cc</u>:

Mr. J. Taverne Prof. J.W.M. Engels Mr. O. Benešík Mr. V. Hampl Ms. D. Auroi Mr. J. Bizet Dr. R. Hörcsik Mr. M. McCarthy, TD Ms. L. Čigâne Hon. L. Busuttil Ms. I. Kloc Prof. M. Rocki Mr. B. De Vasconcelos Ms. R. Bastos Sir W. Cash Lord T. Boswell

Tweede Kamer, Netherlands Eerste Kamer, Netherlands Poslanecká sněmovna, Czech Republic Senát, Czech Republic Assemblée nationale, France Sénat, France Országgyűlés, Hungary Dáil Éireann and Seanad Éireann, Ireland Saeima, Latvia Kamra tad-Deputati, Malta Sejm, Poland Senat Rzeczypospolitej Polskiej, Poland Assembleia da República, Portugal Assembleia da República, Portugal House of Commons, United Kingdom House of Lords, United Kingdom